GIRLS: Father, Son, Holy Ghost 9.13.11

July 7, 2011

On September 13th, 2011 San Francisco’s Girls will release their second album and third record Father, Son, Holy Ghost on True Panther Sounds and Turnstile in the UK/Europe. The album comes two years after their debut (Album), and one year after the follow-up EP (Broken Dreams Club).

On the third anniversary of the birth of Girls as a band Christopher Owens and Chet White found themselves entering the studio to begin recording their second album. More a collection of gear than a studio, recording took place in the bowels of a San Francisco office building. The two teamed up with new drummer Darren Weiss and guitarist John Anderson assembling performances and ultimately creating new music and musical relationships to carry the band through its newest incarnation.

Girls have taken what they’ve always done best and have displayed it with amazing clarity and the strongest of intent. Classic songwriting coupled with exciting production is their way. “I’m still all the same,” Owens says. “I still know I have to do it. I still love the songs and writing songs.”

Father. Son, Holy Ghost is at times ebullient and at times absolutely devastating. A truly beautiful record and the perfect amalgamation of a band’s past and present while most importantly leaving us all excited and hungry for their future.

Click HERE for cover art.

Pre-order on insound and get an exclusive artist-designed poster free. HERE

Track Listing
1. Honey Bunny
2. Alex
3. Die
4. Saying I Love You
5. My Ma
6. Vomit
7. Just A Song
8. Magic
9. Forgiveness
10. Love Like A River
11. Jamie Marie

4 Responses to “GIRLS: Father, Son, Holy Ghost 9.13.11”

  1. Exfandesixties 08. Jul, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Can I just give you (True Panther)all my money already to get an advance copy? Can’t wait anymore knowing that its finally here. I have a feeling that this is going to be a benchmark is music not just for this year, but in history. GIRLS have created something special from the beginning. It was obvious from the first listen, when our hearts and minds were melted and blown into devastating emotions. And I can’t wait to feel that aching but joyous pain again. Counting down the days…

    P.S. – Thanks for making SF cool in so many ways)))))


  1. Girls announce new album | Positive Destruction - 07. Jul, 2011

    [...] [via True Panther] [...]

  2. listen party // Girls : “Father, Son, Holy Ghost” – tasted shapes - 06. Sep, 2011

    [...] // “Father, Son, Holy Ghost” : 2011.09.12 : True Panther Sounds : streaming in its entirety [...]

  3. [Review/Listen] – Girls – “Father, Son, Holy Ghost” | ListenBeforeYouBuy - 04. Oct, 2011

    [...] – Girls – “Father, Son, Holy Ghost”TweetBuy the album: Amazon | iTunes | True Panther RecordsThere are a lot of interesting stories to tell about Girls‘ frontman Christopher Owens, but [...]

Leave a Reply