July 9, 2013

As King Krule, 18 year old south-east London based singer/producer/songwriter Archy Marshall has quietly and stealthily crafted a reputation for himself as one of the most raw and startling voices of a new generation. With his unexpectedly deep and mournful baritone tracing fissures of disappointment and social disorientation to devastating effect, Marshall has harnessed the inchoate frustration and fury of youth and translated it into a series of brilliant singles released on the likes of True Panther Sounds and Rinse over the past few years.

Now comes 6 Feet Beneath the Moon, his first full-length on True Panther Sounds/XL Recordings, and with it, the much anticipated unveiling of the full scope and scale of Marshall’s vision. Over the course of 14 tracks, Marshall’s passions and confusions are rubbed raw and laid bare, the only connective tissue throughout it all being one of searing lyrical clarity paired with a confounding musical deftness which utterly belies his tender years. From the opening clarion call of “Easy, Easy” it is abundantly clear that this is a breathtakingly bold and arresting sonic worldview, as his songs, produced by Marshall along with Rodaidh McDonald (The XX, Savages), open up to become a loose knit meditation on regret and discontent, loss of faith and renewal of hope, and optimism in the face of desperation.

Eschewing much of his previously released material, 6 Feet Beneath the Moon firmly yet soundly rejects any notion of contemporary trends or peers to occupy its very own unique place on the music landscape, oscillating gently between the classic 50′s soul of Gene Vincent and Elvis Presley to the minimal, avant-garde experimentation of Penguin Café Orchestra, to even the electronic smog and dub textures of Marshall’s beloved Rinse FM. This is a record where the nakedly bluesy stomp of the likes of “A Lizard State” and “Easy, Easy” sit effortlessly next to the low-end frequency and shimmering beats of “Neptune Estate” and “Will I Come,” after all. It is reflective as much of Marshall’s own eclectic tastes as it is of the frenetic pulse and rhythm of the city around him, particularly the rapidly changing south-east areas in which he grew up. There is a genuine grittiness and world weariness ingrained here, as exemplified so succinctly when Marshall sings, “Hate…runs through my blood” on the stunning “Out Getting Ribs,” the track which started all the fuss.

All these esoteric textures and fidgety, off-kilter rhythms make perfect sense as an album however, especially when you consider that incredible voice. Whether he is singing ruefully of youthful disaffection and “the heat of my own treason” (“Ceiling”) or spitting out venomous lines like “I’m not going to crack like you cracked…I don’t want to be trapped in the black of your heart” over the jittery “A Lizard State,” its clear that something which marks Marshall out is his stunning ability to turn intense emotional peaks and troughs into spectacular pieces of artful, atmospheric and anthemic balladeering.

Some of the imagery is disturbing to be sure (as on the closer “Bathed in Grey” where he offhandedly murmurs that he “there was blood…found a body in the dark”) but the songs are also imbued with genuine heart as well, as epitomised on his heart rending update of “Out Getting Ribs.” Taken as a whole, 6 Feet Beneath the Moon is the sound of a young man growing up – not for nothing is this album being released, unconventionally enough, on a Saturday, which also marks Marshall’s 19th birthday – and attempting to grapple with the realities of the world he inhabits, an unsparing dissection of the social decay that has begun to set in around him – and a fascinating, brutal journey it is too.

King Krule
6 Feet Beneath The Moon
(True Panther/XL Recordings)
Aug 24, 2013

1. Easy Easy
2. Border Line
3. Has This Hit?
4. Foreign 2
5. Ceiling
6. Baby Blue
7. Cementality
8. A Lizard State
9. Will I Come
10. Ocean Bed
11. Neptune Estate
12. The Krockadile
13. Out Getting Ribs
14. Bathed in Grey


  1. ryan douglass 09. Jul, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    my absolute most anticipated release of the year. i’ve been waiting for a full length from king krule for a long time now, cannot wait til aug. 24.

  2. yorka 09. Jul, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    can’t wait

  3. The Great And Powerful Poobah 10. Jul, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    Where can I pre-order this sweetness?

  4. Max Weinstein 11. Jul, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    When can we pre-order a physical copy?

  5. Dean 19. Jul, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    couple of days!

  6. parker 21. Jul, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    where can I pre order this on vinyl?


  1. King Krule – 6 Feet Beneath The Moon : The Vinyl Word - 10. Jul, 2013

    [...] Archy Marshall, aka Zoo Kid, aka King Krule, is just 18 years old.  He’s from Southeast London, so he’s no stranger to the lack of opportunities, yob violence, and riots that are plaguing a disgruntled, working class youth culture in Britain.  Some are saying he’s a voice of this culture.  For certain he is a voice, a remarkable and unique, cracked baritone voice.  It’s the perfect surprise for his gangly and awkward look.  Marshall has quietly been getting attention since he released his first single as Zoo Kid on House Anxiety Records in 2010.  This 7″ is way OOP and highly sought after.  There’s even somewhat of a cult mob calling on the label to repress it.  The self-titled follow-up EP as King Krule, was released in 2011 by True Panther Sounds, the label that brought everyone Girls in 2009.  It trickled out the door that Fall and into 2012, but suddenly it is a hot commodity.  I don’t know how this is being offered at a minimum of $20 on Discogs, because TPS is owned by Matador, which keeps everything in print.  You can get a copy from them for $8 HERE.  Subsequently, London-based youth culture radio, Rinse FM, put out a characteristic 12″ double A side called Rock Bottom / Octopus in October.  This 12″ is getting scarce, so I would secure one before they’re gone HERE.  So far, King Krule has made it impossible to tag his music with a genre as he has experimented with his sound.  Electronic, shoegaze, leftfield, blues, grime, dubstep, and blues have all been employed.  That is why many people, myself included, are very anxious to see how his vision takes shape on his forthcoming full-length on XL Recordings and True Panther Sounds, called 6 Feet Beneath the Moon.  It is due for release on August 24th, his 19th birthday.  The vinyl is not yet available for pre-order, but we will update when it is.  For now, you can read a more detailed review and preview the lead single, “Easy Easy” HERE. [...]

Leave a Reply